Home > StoreyQuickNotes Update > A New Day and Another Idea

A New Day and Another Idea


This weekend I’ve done quite a bit of work on the StoreyQuickNotes MD package.  The move from the 0.92 beta version to 0.93 beta will be a pretty significant step forward.  The earliest upload would likely be Wednesday of this week after a couple of days of me live testing 93 beta in the clinic.

But that got me thinking of ways to shave more time off of my day.  Over the next week, I’m going to work on moving the QuickSimNotes into packages where the therapists and dosimetrists can pre-generate some notes that I will then need to approve.  It would be divided into two separate components that would run at the simulation and as the plan was printed and billed.

This puts the template for the documentation into the hands of the people that do our charge capturing and should increase and improve our accuracy while moving me to a review and sign role rather than needing to use the GUI to generate the actual documentation.  I will need to consider how I will get flagged to see these notes, but overall, I do not think it will be that big of a deal.

Probably the bigger portion of getting this to fly would be trading the current therapists documentation for creating the template.  We have a long history of double documenting and I think that might be a hard habit for the billing department to let go of – even though Medicare will not pay based on a therapists note.

I’ve wanted to go in this direction since 11/07 when I first built some templates.  Nearly 2 years later, I’ve got a new and different idea for using AutoHotkey and StoreyQuickNotes to try and make progress and shave time off my work week.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

